Victoria University


Victoria University (VU or Vic Uni) is a public research university based in Melbourne, Australia. It is a dual-sector tertiary institution providing courses in both higher education and Technical and Further Education (TAFE). 2016 marked VU’s centenary as an educational institution and its 25th anniversary as a university.
The University has several campuses in Melbourne Central Business District, Melbourne Western Region, and in Sydney, comprising six academic colleges, six research institutes, seven research centres, and VU’s Victoria Polytechnic (providing vocational education and training). It also offers courses at partner institutions throughout Asia. Victoria University has campuses located throughout Melbourne’s western region and the city centre.
One campus is located in central Sydney.VU courses are also delivered by partner institutes throughout Asia, including in China, India, Malaysia, Singapore, Sri Lanka and Vietnam. Two of the largest partners are Sunway University College in Malaysia and Liaoning University in China.
The idea for a technical school based in the western suburbs of Melbourne was first proposed in 1910. The Footscray Technical School opened its doors to 220 students and 9 teachers in 1916 after five years of fundraising.
Charles Archibald Hoadley was the school’s principal from its founding until his death in 1947. His vision was to aid students who had both a piece of sound technical knowledge and an appreciation of the arts, sports, and the outdoors and community activities. He believed in educating students “for life as well as for living”, wanting students to view education as opening the doors of opportunity.
Under Hoadley’s leadership, the school expanded rapidly and began offering trade certificate courses, diplomas in architecture, building, and contracting, as well as evening classes. War and the Depression saw a dip in student numbers. However, by 1943, there were 2500 students enrolled in courses taught at the Footscray Park and Footscray Nicholson campuses.
In 1990, FIT merged with the Western Institute, which had been founded three years earlier to provide TAFE and higher education courses to the outlying suburbs in western Melbourne. In 1990, the Victoria State Parliament as Victoria University of Technology established it as a university. The University further amalgamation with the Western Melbourne Institute of TAFE in 1998. In 2005, the Victoria University of Technology Act of 1990 was amended to rename the University as Victoria University, reflecting the development of its teaching and research.
Programs offered
The unique offerings of our sports engineering degree led Jasmine Proud to research the development of assistive technology.
• Bachelor of Construction Management (Honours)
• Bachelor of Building Surveying
• Bachelor of Building Design
• Bachelor of Engineering (Honours) (Architectural Engineering)
• Bachelor of Engineering (Honours) (Civil Engineering)
• Bachelor of Engineering (Honours) (Electrical and Electronic Engineering)
• Bachelor of Engineering (Honours) (Mechanical Engineering)
• Graduate Certificate in Performance-Based Building and Fire Codes
Master of Engineering
• Information Technology
• Bachelor of Information Technology
• Bachelor of Information Technology (Professional)
• Graduate Certificate in Cyber Security
• Master of Applied Information Technology
• Bachelor of Science
• Project management
• Graduate Certificate in Project Management
• Graduate Diploma in Project Management
• Master of Project Management (by coursework)
Research degrees
The College of Engineering & Science delivers Masters level courses which are offered by coursework, and you can study a PhD or Masters by research through our research institutes:
Institute for Health & Sport
Institute for Sustainable Industries & Liveable Cities
Conducted in collaboration with industry and community partners, our postgraduate courses provide technical and management specialization with various durations, allowing you to fit study in with your existing commitments.
VU offers two Masters in collaboration with our research institutes:
Master of Engineering
Chemical, Civil & Building, Electrical, Environmental Safety & Risk or Mechanical Engineering or Physics
Master of Science
Computer & Mathematical Sciences
PhD courses offered
Doctor of Philosophy (Health & Sport)
Doctor of Philosophy (Sustainable Industries & Liveable Cities)
Student life
The Department of Student Affairs (DSA) role begins from the time of a student’s enrollment in the university until graduation, and continues even afterwards, by encouraging Alumni group participation.
Students are encouraged to actively engage in co-curricular and extra-curricular activities to advance their enrichment beyond the classroom as part of a positive and holistic student life experience. The Department of Student Affairs (DSA) facilitates student activities and engagement including student clubs, athletic teams, associations, competitions, initiatives, study abroad trips, and a diverse calendar of annual events.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here